Monday Blues & Beats Vol. 101

Vol. 101

Welcome to Volume 101, first off I would like to congratulate my fellow Canadians on a spectacular Olympic performance, there is an abundance of pride felt across the nation. Now to the music, this week we have a Jay Rock-Kendrick Lamar collaboration from the vault, Modern Rivals second single from their debut LP, a second composition from the production duo of A-Trak & Lex Luger, a Diddy-produced Rick Ross single and more.

Last week we held a giveaway for some Monster Headphones, today I am happy to announce the winner is:

Alex Seymour

Jay Rock – “To The Top (feat. Kendrick Lamar)”

This track was apparently recorded for Rock’s debut album but failed to make the project. Luckily for us, the TDE gems surfaced this past week. Produced by DJ Mano

Modern Rivals – “Pins And Stitches”

Modern Rivals is a five-piece indie rock/pop group from Brooklyn, NY. Their first full-length project Cemetery Dares is coming April 22

Pre-Order on

P. Reign – “Ill Life Pt. 2”

One of my favourite tracks from the weekend goes to the up and coming Canadian rapper P. Reign. The flow is improving, along with the content, and Pro Logic gives him an electric platform to prove that.

Little Dragon – “Klapp Klapp”

Yukimi and her partners in crime are on the verge of releasing their fourth studio album, Nabuma Rubberband (May 13), and here’s the upbeat pre-order single.

Pre-Order on

Low Pros – “100 Bottles (feat. Travi$ Scott)”

A-Trak and Lex Luger go by the name Low Pros, and the production duo have dropped their second joint from their forthcoming collaborative EP

Vince Staples – “Nate (feat. James Fauntleroy)”

The Long Beach native has been busy touring with Earl Sweatshirt, will be joining ScHoolboy Q and has just announced a new project titled Shyne Coldchain, Vol. 2. This is the first taste and it features soulful vocals from Fauntleroy and production by Scoop Deville

Alma – “Ashes To Ashes (feat. Kill Paris)”

Hailing from Boulder, CO, Alma uses her inspiring voice over some Kill Paris genius.

Rick Ross – “Nobody (feat. French Montana)”

The incredibly hyped Mastermind album drops next week and Ricky Rozay floods the streets with another leak. The chilled out vibe on this takes it back to Deeper Than Rap.

Pre-Order on

Sango – “Icebox 2.0”

Sango is up to his usual tricks again, taking Omarion’s “Icebox” and Craig David’s “Fill Me In,” and turning them into what sounds like an original track.

Matt Miller – “No Love”

Matt Miller is someone new to me, but the New Zealander won me over with his usage of TLC’s “No Scrubs”

Onyx – “We Don’t Fuckin’ Care (feat. A$AP Ferg & Sean Price)”

The boys from Queens, NY are back with an album in the works; Wakedafucup. Enlisting A$AP Ferg, Sean Price and Snowgoons on the beat is a wicked recipe.

Substance – “Hangin’ On (Memorecks Remix)”

The original is a full-bodied Hip Hop beat from the Toronto duo Substance, and James Peck (Memorecks) infuses a whole new life into the track.

Redlight – “Get Money (feat. Raekwon)”

UK producer Redlight snags a feature from Wu’s Raekwon over this nasty beat

PartyNextDoor – “Persian Rugs (Marvel Alexander Remix)”

The LA producer reworks PND’s latest leak, giving it a little more hop

Download Volume 101



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s